Celebrating Cultural Heritage: Home

The mission of the Helen Hall Library is to provide free access to information and fuel for the imagination in an age defined by the unprecedented importance of both.

In keeping with the mission of Helen Hall Library, which is to provide information and fuel imagination for all people, library staff is working to recognize and celebrate a variety of cultures and identities.

This LibGuide is meant to house a collection of resources - recommendations for books, movies, and digital materials and author spotlights as well as information about related library programs and offerings - for a variety of cultural heritage months.

As the year goes on, we'll add to this guide, so be sure to check back often!

Your library card gives you access to:

With NoveList Plus, you can find the perfect book to read! When you search a title or an author, NoveList will suggest similar titles and/or authors, also known as read-a-likes.

NoveList is also a great resource to find new books, as it allows to you to search for books not only based on key words but with other subjects like genre, writing style, tone, and more.

On the home page you will find the following icons, each linking to a webpage filled with information and resources.

The "Explore! Diversity Resources" page is especially helpful. On that page, NoveList provides information on books that feature characters from all walks of life, diverse authors, and curated booklists.

Check out this guide on how to use the search features in NoveList to find books with diverse characters.

Through kanopy, you have access thousands of movies from the comfort of your home. This streaming services includes a wide variety of titles, from foreign and independent films to documentaries and kids programming.

Databases

If you're conducting research, Helen Hall Library has access to the following databases that could prove to be useful:

• Bibliography of Native North Americans - Database of more than 110,000 citations of books, essays, journal articles and government documents of the United States and Canada.
• Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues - Find timely and historically relevant content on issues that influence women’s lives across the globe.
• Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies - Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
• Gale OneFile: Gender Studies - Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
• ProQuest African American Heritage - A groundbreaking digital resource exclusively devoted to African American family history research. The collection was created in partnership with leading African American genealogists and recognized leaders in genealogical information to develop a comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools specifically pertaining to African Americans.
• Race Relations Abstracts - Provides a sole focus on content relating specifically to the relationship between races. It is a rich source of bibliographic records covering fundamental areas relevant to race relations. Specific areas covered, include ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline, as listed.  

The full list of accessible databases can be viewed here.