DIY Home Repairs by
Inside, you'll find straightforward, step-by-step instructions for 100 home-repair and improvement projects.
Shop Class for Everyone: Practical Life Skills in 83 Projects by
Did you remember your goggles? There used to be a time when pretty much every high school offered Shop class, where students learned to use a circular saw or rewire a busted lamp- all while discovering the satisfaction of being self-reliant and doing it yourself. Shop Class for Everyone now offers anyone who might have missed this vital class a crash course in these practical life skills. Packed with illustrated step by step instructions, plus relevant charts, lists, and handy graphics, here's how to plaster a wall, build a bookcase from scratch, unclog a drain, and change a flat tire (on your car or bike). It's all made clear in plain, nontechnical language for any level of DIYer, and it comes with a guarantee: No matter how simple the task, doing it with your own two hands provides a feeling of accomplishment that no app or device will ever give you.
Family Handyman Whole House Repair Guide by
A comprehensive illustrated guide to house repair, including step-by-step instructions for replacing a storm door, fixing sagging shelves, and patching rotted wood.
How to Fix Stuff by
A handbook with step-by-step instructions for tackling common home repairs, exterior fixes and maintaining your home.
Safe and Sound by
Renting a home can be a complex process--from finding a safe and affordable space, to hiring help for moving in and out, and of course, managing any repairs that come up during your stay. You deserve to feel empowered to take matters into your own hands--and it's not as hard as you might think. In this book, Mercury will show you how to tackle the projects that need improvement in your home--from how to properly fix a clog in your bathroom sink and safely hang things on your walls to patching small and medium drywall holes.
Black and Decker Wood Floors by
While home interior trends change, and some flooring options may come and go with them, the popularity of wood flooring does not wane. It's an enduring, renewable material choice that can add value and charm to your home. Using Black and Decker Wood Floors, DIYers with moderate tool skills can tackle a wood flooring project and enjoy the cost savings that go along with their successful efforts. This book covers all phases of wood, engineered wood, and laminate flooring installation, from preliminary review of flooring choices, tools, and prep work through final finishing and reinstalling trim. Of course, not all wood flooring situation require removal and replacement. DIYers will appreciate a chapter devoted to repairing and restoring existing wood flooring that is in serviceable condition.
Code Check Complete 3rd Edition by
If you are a builder, remodeler, building inspector, or anyone who plays a role in building a home, you know how invaluable a good reference book is for staying on top of codes. Now in its third edition, Code Check Complete 3rd combines the full versions of the individual Code Check titles into a single, complete, all-in-one guide to the most commonly cited code violations encountered by building inspectors. Code Check Complete 3rd is updated to the latest IRC, UPS, UMC, NEC codes. From general building and mechanicals to electrical and plumbing, Code Check Complete pairs clear language with helpful tables and illustrations to clarify the complex rules and many changes in the latest codes so that every project can be completed fast, on-budget, and safely.
Tiling Complete by
Tiling Complete is a highly visual book focusing on real-world situations faced by homeowners and offers real-world advice, including how to deal with the inevitable issues that can arise during a project.
HomeSkills: Plumbing by
As part of our comprehensive HomeSkills DIY series, HomeSkills: Plumbing will give you power over your pipes. If you've ever had to call a plumber, you know firsthand that hiring a professional will cost you dearly. But saving money isn't the only major motivation behind DIY plumbing, as the well-informed routine maintenance of your systems can protect your entire home from water damage and a laundry list of other inconveniences. With HomeSkills: Plumbing, you'll gain a full understanding of the what, how, and why of plumbing work, from general theory and descriptions of the typical home plumbing system to detailed information on the most common materials, fittings, and tools. Your new set of skills--sweating copper tubing, solvent-welding PVC pipe, making solid compression connections, and others--will enable you to install or replace toilets, sinks, faucets, showers, garbage disposals, tubs, and much more. And you won't have to worry about staying on the cutting edge of plumbing technique: we've included sections on modern troubleshooting and repairs, as well as all the latest materials (such as PEX tubing), with information that's guaranteed to comply with current plumbing codes
Troubleshooting and Maintaining PCs All-In-One for Dummies by
Provides information on personal computer maintenance and repair, covering such topics as hardware, software, networking, device manager, system restore, and security.
Bicycle Repair Manual, Seventh Edition by
Presents a handbook for cyclists on the care, maintenance, and repair of the bicycle, providing detailed photographs and step-by-step instructions that demonstrate how to clean and maintain mechanics, brakes, and suspension.
Mending with Love by
Extend the life of well-worn, beloved pieces using these creative techniques. Mending With Love shows you how to apply embroidery, patching, darning, felting, stamping and a little crochet to worn pieces of clothing or household items. Instead of stowing or throwing away damaged pieces that hold happy memories, you can employ these beautiful and sustainable ideas to give them a new life.
The Ultimate Guide to Pool Maintenance, Third Edition by
The Ultimate Guide to Pool Maintenance provides complete guidance on all the maintenance and repair tasks required to keep pools and spas working at peak efficiency. This Third Edition now contains information on the latest technology and equipment, together with Quick Start Guides and difficulty ratings for each procedure. Filled with hundreds of detailed illustrations, this updated classic features: A step-by-step explanation of each pool maintenance procedure with easy-to-follow photos Quick Start Guides to help readers start and finish each task quickly Tricks of the Trade to make each procedure easier Tools of the Trade highlighting parts and tools for each job An Easy, Advanced, or Pro difficulty rating for every task.
Piano Manual by
This manual explains the essentials of buying a piano before moving on to the meat of the book - the care and maintenance of a piano. A trouble-shooting section explains how to check condition and diagnose common piano ailments, and then three maintenance chapters follow, detailing different levels. The 'easy' section covers routine tasks that anyone can and should do; 'moderate' looks at maintenance and repair that someone with good DIY skills can achieve; and 'advanced' covers work that is usually best left to professionals but that it's nonetheless good to know about.
Guitar Player Repair Guide by
Covers set-up, maintenance, tuners, acoustic adjustments, nut replacement, fret dressing, refretting, guitar electronics, finish application and repair, and useful tools.
Auto Repair Basics - Federal Trade Commission Consumer Advice
Car Repair Tips - Texas Attorney General
Car Maintenance Infographic - Nationwide
A First-Time Buyer’s Guide to Home Maintenance - Family Handyman
The Ultimate Home Maintenance Checklist for Every Season - Better Homes & Gardens
5 Home Repairs You Really Should Know How to Do Yourself - HowStuffWorks
10 Home Repairs You Can DIY—and 10 Where You Need to Hire a Pro - Real Simple