The Adult Services department at Helen Hall Library offers two language classes -
English Conversation Practice
Practice your English conversation skills with others from all over the world. We occasionally work on other topics as well, such as reading, grammar, vocabulary, and writing. All levels are welcome!
Beginning Spanish
Learn how to communicate at a basic level or build upon what you already know.
Visit our Language Classes page or our online calendar for more information about when these classes are taking place!
Chilean author (1942-)
Notable works: The House of the Spirits (1985), Daughter of Fortune (1999)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Chilean author & poet (1953-2003)
Notable works: 2666 (2008)
Explore all of his works in our collection here
Mexican-American author (1954-)
Notable works: The House on Mango Street (1991), Caramelo (2002)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Dominican-American author & professor (1972-)
Notable works: Dominicana (2019)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Dominican-American author & MacArthur Genius Grant winner (1968-)
Notable works: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao (2008)
Explore all of his works in our collection here
Argentinian author & journalist (1973-)
Notable works: Things We Lost in the Fire (2016)
Explore more of her works in our collection here
Colombian author & journalist (1927-2014)
Notable works: One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967), Love in the Time of Cholera (1985)
Explore more of his works in our collection here
Mexican author (1983-)
Notable works: Lost Children Archive (2019)
Explore more of her works in our collection here
Spanish author & translator (1951-2022)
Notable works: Thus Bad Begins (2014)
Explore more of his works in our collection here
Mexican-Canadian novelist (1981-)
Notable Works: Mexican Gothic (2021), Gods of Jade and Shadow (2020)
Explore more of her works in our collection here
Mexican poet & diplomat (1914-1998)
Notable works: The Poems of Octavio Paz (2018)
Explore more of his works in our collection here
Puerto Rican-Brazilian novelist
Notable works: The Worst Best Man (2020)
Explore more of her works in our collection here
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Family Lore F ACEVEDO available in other formats:
|
In the Midst of Winter F ALLENDE available in other formats:
|
2666 F BOLANO available in other formats:
|
Collected Fictions F BORGES
|
The House on Mango Street F CISNEROS available in other formats:
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
You Had Me at Hola F DARIA available in other formats:
|
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao F DIAZ available in other formats:
|
Like Water for Chocolate F ESQUIVEL available in other formats:
|
Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer F FIGUEROA
|
Olga Dies Dreaming F GONZALEZ
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Crosshairs F HERNANDEZ
|
The Devil Takes You Home F IGLESIAS
|
Mexican Gothic F MORENO-GARCIA available in other formats:
|
Neruda on the Park F NATERA
|
The Book of Lost Saints F OLDER |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Ramon and Julieta F QUINTANA ALBERTSON
|
Fruit of the Drunken Tree F ROJAS CONTRERAS available in other formats:
|
Taste of Sage F SANTOS
|
Little Eyes F SCHWEBLIN
|
Harsh Times F VARGAS LLOSA
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
The Lost Book of Adana Moreau F ZAPATA
|
The Self-Made Widow M NICIEZA
|
Secret Identity M SEGURA
|
Tender is the Flesh SF BAZTERRICA available in other formats:
|
Chilling Effect SF VALDES available in other formats:
|
audiobook 
large print book 
ebook 
eaudiobook
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Clemente BIO CLEMENTE
|
My Broken Language BIO HUDES
|
In the Dream House BIO MACHADO available in other formats:
|
Native County of the Heart BIO MORAGA
|
Solito BIO ZAMORA available in other formats:
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Inventing Latinos 305.868073 G6332i 2020
|
Rivermouth: A Chronicle of Language, Faith, and Migration 305.9069120973 O481r 2023
|
¡Hola Papi! 306.766092 B8156h 2021
|
El Norte: The Epic and Forgotten History of Hispanic North America 327.7308 G4481n 2019
|
Chicano Eats 641.5926872073 C3523c 2020
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Plant Powered Mexican 641.5972 R1753p 2021
|
Chicano Bakes 641.815 C3523c 2022
|
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature 810.80868073 N882 2011
|
Wáchale!: Poetry and Prose about Growing Up Latino in America 810.809282 W112 |
Postcolonial Love Poem 811.6 D5421p 2020 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Brown Neon: Essays 814.6 G9847b 2022
|
The Cambridge Companion to Latin American Poetry 861.009 C1781c 2018
|
The Poems of Octavio Paz 861.62 P3481p 2018
|
Cuba: An American History 972.91 F385c 2021
|
Mexicans in the Making of America 973.046872 F663m 2014
|
audiobook large print book ebook eaudiobook
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
All About My Mother (1999) DVD ALL
|
Che (2008) DVD CHE
|
Frida (2002) DVD FRIDA
|
Gloria (2013) SP DVD GLORIA Stream this movie on
|
In the Heights (2021) BLU & DVD IN
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Roma (2018) DVD ROMA
|
Selena (1997) DVD SELENA
|
Stand and Deliver (1988) DVD STAND
|
Talk to Her (2002) SP DVD TALK
|
Y Tu Mamá También (2001) SP DVD Y
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Lost City Radio available as:
|
Lucky Broken Girl available as:
|
A House of My Own available as:
|
Sabrina & Corina available as:
|
Dreaming in Cuban available as:
|
 |
 |
 |
|
 |
|
Harvest of Empire available as:
|
Thoughts Without Cigarettes available as:
|
The Story of My Teeth available as:
|
In the Heights: Finding Home available as:
|
Conquistadora available as:
|
|
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
To Selena, With Love available as:
|
The Affairs of the Falcóns available as:
|
The Shadow of the Wind available as:
|
Acting on Impulse available as:
|
We the Animals available as:
|
ebook eaudiobook
