Celebrate Native American Heritage Month with us at the following library programs:
Indigenous Peoples Celebration
Celebrate the First Nation People of the United States. Learn through activities, crafts, and stories.
Date: Sat., Nov. 16, 2024
Time: 10:30 A.M. to 12:00 P.M.
Ages: All ages
The History Club
The History Club meets on the second Monday of each month to discuss local history, Texas history, or American history topics that cover a wide range of interests. The November meeting will feature the American Indian Center of Houston (AICH). Hear from an expert on spreading Native American cultural awareness and location historical research resources.
Date: Mon., Nov. 4, 2024
Time: 7:00 to 8:00 P.M.
Ages: Designed for ages 18+
For any questions about library programming, please consult our online calendar or library staff.
Métis author (1975-)
Notable works: The Marrow Thieves (2017), VenCo (2023)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Ojibwe novelist & poet (1954-)
Notable works: The Plague of Doves (2008), The Night Watchman (2020)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Muscogee author & former US Poet Laureate (1951-)
Notable works: Weaving Sundown in a Scarlet Light: Fifty Poems for Fifty Years (2020)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Cherokee novelist
Notable works: The Removed (2021), Where the Dead Sit Talking (2018)
Explore all of his works in our collection here
Blackfoot author (1972-)
Notable works: My Heart is a Chainsaw (2021), The Only Good Indians (2020)
Explore all of his works in our collection here
Kumeyaay Nation poet & podcast host (1983-)
Notable works: Junk (2018), Feed (2019)
Explore all of his works in our collection here
Cherokee novelist
Notable works: Cherokee America (2019), Maud's Line (2015)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Ojibwe author (1955-2017)
Notable works: Walking the Ojibwe Path: A Memoir in Letters to Joshua (2002)
Explore his work in our collection here
Choctaw author & professor (1977-)
Notable works: Sing, Unburied, Sing (2017), Let Us Descend (2023)
Explore all of her works in our collection here
Cherokee novelist & robotics engineer (1978-)
Notable works: Robopocalypse (2011)
Explore all of his works in our collection here
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
A Minor Chorus F BELCOURT |
Even As We Breathe F CLAPSADDLE
|
VenCo F DIMALINE
|
The Plague of Doves F ERDRICH
|
The Sentence F ERDRICH available in other formats:
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Woman of Light F FAJARDO-ANSTINE
|
Crooked Hallelujah F FORD available in other formats:
|
The Last Karankawas F GARZA
|
The Removed F HOBSON available in other formats:
|
People of the Whale F HOGAN
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Bad Cree F JOHNS
|
The Only Good Indians F JONES available in other formats:
|
Sisters of the Lost Nation F MEDINA
|
There There F ORANGE available in other formats:
|
Wandering Stars F ORANGE available in other formats:
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
The Berry Pickers F PETERS available in other formats:
|
Black Sun F ROANHORSE
|
Trail of Lightning F ROANHORSE
|
Cherokee America F VERBLE
|
Stealing F VERBLE
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
White Horse F WURTH
|
Calling for a Blanket Dance LT-F HOKEAH
|
Sinister Graves M RENDON available in other formats:
|
A Broken Blade SF BLAIR available in other formats:
|
The Clockwork Dynasty SF WILSON
|
audiobook 
large print book 
ebook 
eaudiobook
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Lakota Woman BIO BRAVE BIRD
|
Heart Berries BIO MAILHOT available in other formats:
|
Native American Son: The Life and Sporting Legend of Jim Thorpe BIO THORPE
|
The Sacred Tree: Reflections on Native American Spirituality 299.7 S123 2004
|
Native American Mythology 299.7113 A374n 2005
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Braiding Sweetgrass 305.897 K499b 2020 available in other formats:
|
Unworthy Republic: The Dispossession of Native American and the Road to Indian Territory 323.1197073 S2579u 2020
|
Native Harvests 641.3 K21n
|
Native North American Art 704.0397 B515n 1991
|
Native American Modernism: Art from North America 704.0397007443155 B6949n 2012
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Totems to Turquoise 739.2708997 T7175 2004
|
Body Work: The Radical Power of Personal Narrative 808.066 F289b 2022
|
When the Light of the World Was Subdued, Our Songs Came Through 811.0080897 W5671w 2020
|
Weaving Sundown in a Scarlet Light 811.54 H2822w 2023
|
Junk 811.6 P598j 2018 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Eyes Bottle Dark with a Mouthful of Flowers 811.6 S6272e 2019
|
New Poets of Native Nations 811.6080897 N53211n 2018
|
Walking the Ojibwe Path: A Memoir in Letters to Joshua 813.6 W129w 2023
|
Bad Indians: A Tribal Memoir 970.00497 M672b 2013
|
The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee
available in other formats:
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Notable Native People 970.00922 K265n 2021
|
How We Go Home: Voices from Indigenous North America 971.00497 H8471h 2020
|
Our Stories Remember: American Indian, History, Culture, and Values through Storytelling 973.0497 B887o 2003
|
Empire of the Summer Moon 978.004974572092 P238gw 2010 available in other formats:
|
The Exiles (1961) DVDE 305.897 E9637 2009
|
audiobook large print book ebook eaudiobook
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Barking Water (2009) DVD BARKING Stream this movie on
|
Beans (2020) DVD BEANS
|
Big Eden (2000) DVD BIG Stream this movie on
|
Edge of America (2003) DVD EDGE
|
Older Than America (2008) DVD OLDER
|
 |
 |
 |
||
|
The Rider (2017) DVD RIDER
|
Smoke Signals (1998) DVD SMOKE
|
Songs My Brothers Taught Me (2016) DVD SONGS Stream this movie on
|
|
|
kanopy has also curated a collection of films for Native American Heritage Month! Stream movies, documentaries, and short films from the comfort of your home with your library card.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
The Marrow Thieves available as:
|
Sabrina & Corina available as:
|
Never Whistle at Night available as:
|
Code Talker: The First and Only Memoir by One of the Original Navajo Code Talkers of WWII available as:
|
Traplines available as:
|
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
|
Maud's Line available as:
|
Salvage the Bones available as:
|
Sing, Unburied, Sing available as:
|
Winter Counts available as:
|
Robopocalypse available as:
|
ebook eaudiobook
