Teen Services: Homework Help

• AllSides
  This site displays the day's top news stories from the Left, Center, and Right political spectrum. It organizes them side-by-side to give users multiple perspectives.
• Explora: Current Events
  This database provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books. It offers articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students be successful in their research. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• MAS Complete
  Full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books covering various subjects. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Newspaper Source Plus
  Cover-to-cover full text of 28 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Opposing Viewpoints in Context
  A premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Science News for Students
  Science News for Students is an award-winning online publication dedicated to providing age-appropriate, topical science news. 
• Smithsonian: Teen Tribune
  News articles and videos.
• U.S. News & World Report: Teens
  U.S. News & World Report is a multi-platform publisher of news and information.

• Essay and General Literature Index
  This index cites records in collections of essays and works dating back to 1985. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Explora: Arts and Literature
  This database provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books. It offers articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students be successful in their research. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Gale Literary Sources
  Literature Resource Center along with Twayne's Authors Online and Scribner Writers Series have been integrated into Artemis Literary Sources, enabling researchers, faculty and students to search across the largest corpus of literary criticism, original works, biographies, reviews, work overviews and much more in order to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• High School Students: English Language Arts Skills Improvement
  The Learning Express Library Database provides a section for High School Students, which offers skill-building resources for classroom and homework success.
• Library of Congress Guide to Citing Primary Sources
  Provides a guide to citing primary sources in Chicago and MLA styles.
• MAS Complete
  Full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books covering various subjects. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Play Index
  This index covers 31,000 plays dating back to 1949. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
  Details to help you write and format a paper.
• Short Story Index
  This index has more than 117,000 stories from more than 4,2000 collections and anthologies. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.

• About the United States
  USA.gov offers government information about the American flag, branches of the government, budget of the government, data and statistics, government agencies and elected officials, history and historical documents, laws and legal issues, life in the United States, and presidents, vice presidents and first ladies.
• Judicial Branch History
  The Federal Judicial Center offers history regarding judges, courts, courthouses, famous federal trials, exhibits, timelines, and more.
• MAS Complete
  Full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books covering various subjects. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Project Vote Smart
  Refresh your knowledge of American politics by providing useful information about the candidates, the issues and the government.
• The Legislative Branch
  You can either search or browse this site in order to find out about Congress, members, committees, Congressional Organizations, floor proceedings, legislation, House and Senate Rules, and much more.

• Transparent Language
  Unlimited access to more than 100 online language courses, including ESL, packed with pronunciation, speech, grammar, writing, and vocabulary-building lessons. Just click "sign up" and enter your library card number.

For more information about languages and ESL, check out our Learning English LibGuide.

• Create A Graph
  Create area, bar, and line graphs, and pie charts.
• Explora: Science and Math
  This database provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books. It offers articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students be successful in their research. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• High School Students: Mathematics Skills Improvement
  The Learning Express Library Database provides a section for High School Students, which offers skill-building resources for classroom and homework success.

• Explora: Science and Math
  This database provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books. It offers articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students be successful in their research. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Gale In Context: Science
  Understand context for hundreds of science topics through overviews, journals, news, interactive experiments, and more. *Access from inside the library only.
• Gale Interactive: Science
  Manipulate 3D interactive models to visualize and understand concepts in biology, chemistry, earth, and space science. *Access from inside the library only.
• High School Students: Science Skills Improvement
  The Learning Express Library Database provides a section for High School Students, which offers skill-building resources for classroom and homework success.
• National Geographic Kids
  Explore amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space. Best for ages 6-14. *Access from inside the library only.
• Periodic Table
  An online periodic table.
• Inventor Archive
  Brief biographies of various inventors created by MIT.
• Science Buddies
  Nonprofit organization that provides free online resources for science education.
• Science Online (Facts on File)
  Science database that includes complete texts of books and periodicals. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• Virtual Library: Science Fairs
  Listings of local, regional, state, national, and international science fair websites. A section on virtual science fairs is also included.

• Explora: History and Social Science
  This database provides easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books. It offers articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students be successful in their research. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• High School Students: Social Studies Skills Improvement
  The Learning Express Library Database provides a section for High School Students, which offers skill-building resources for classroom and homework success.
• Library of Congress: Digital Collections
  This website showcases history through written and spoken word, photos, videos, maps, and other documents.
• The American Presidency
  Activities, resources and information about presidents from the Smithsonian.
• The Handbook of Texas Online
  An encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture.
• MAS Complete
  Full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books covering various subjects. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• The National Museum of Natural History Virtual Tours
  Tour current and past exhibits from any location!
• The Portal to Texas History
  From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections.
• Gale World History
  From prehistory to the present day, you can explore history through the world of gale. 

• Canva
  Use Canva's drag-and-drop feature and professional layouts to design consistently stunning graphics. Canva also offers free images, filters, icons, shapes, and fonts.
• CCISD Library Catalog
  Pick your CCISD school and access your school's library catalog.
• Citation Machine
  Citation Machine supports MLA, APA, Chicago, and Turabian formats.
• Citefast Citation Generator
  Create citations fast in MLA, APA, or Chicago.
• Dictionary.com
  Dictionary.com provides reliable access to millions of definitions, synonyms, audio pronunciations, example sentences, translations and spelling help through our services at Dictionary.com, Thesaurus.com and Reference.com.
• Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
  The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources/instructional material and provides these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
• World Book Advanced
  Powerful reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases for high school students and adults. *Library card needed for access outside of the library.
• World Book Student
  Content and features designed for school-aged patrons' homework and research needs.