Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this digital eBook collection, you can enjoy great reads from local authors. Check out mysteries, romances, reflective memoirs, local histories, and so much more in "Indie Texas." Start reading today to find your next favorite book.
E-books and audio books to download to your favorite devices. Remember to use your library card to log in!
Goodreads is the world’s largest site for readers and book recommendations. You can see what books your friends are reading; track the books you're reading, have read, and want to read; check out your personalized book recommendations; and find out if a book is a good fit for you from our community’s reviews.
Find good books, fiction and nonfiction, for teens. There are recommended reading lists, read-alikes, award winners, series titles, and more.
Bullying.org's purpose is to prevent bullying in our society through education and awareness.
- Depression Basics
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) defines depression, causes, signs and symptoms, treatment, and how to get immediate help.
Love146 is an international human rights organization, and the "Learn" section of their website shares common myths of trafficking and internet safety tips for both teenagers and parents.
- National Runaway Safe Line
Call 1-800-RUNAWAY if you are a teenager who is thinking of running from home, if you have a friend who has run and is looking for help, or if you are a runaway ready to go home.
- Not My Kid
Information for parents about drugs, bullying, and mental health topics.
The mission of 1in6 is to help men who have had unwanted or abusive sexual experiences live healthier, happier lives. Additionally, 1in6 serves family members, friends, partners, and service providers by providing information and support resources on the web and in the community.
- Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)
RAINN is the nation's largest anti-sexual violence organization. RAINN created and operates the National Sexual Assault Hotline (800-656-HOPE, online.rainn.org y rainn.org/es) in partnership with more than 1,000 local sexual assault service providers across the country and operates the Safe Helpline for the Department of Defense. RAINN also carries out programs to prevent sexual violence, help survivors, and ensure that perpetrators are brought to justice.
- Suicide Prevention Checklist
The Recover website offers help for anyone who wants a solid solution for their suicide issues. Take a suicide prevention self-test, learn about nutritional deficiencies that can cause depression, neurotransmitter imbalances, prescription medication, treatment, and more.
- Suicide Prevention Lifeline
The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 800-273-TALK (8255) is a 24-hour, toll-free, confidential suicide prevention hotline available to anyone in suicidal crisis or emotional distress. By dialing 800-273-TALK, the call is routed to the nearest crisis center in our national network of more than 140 crisis centers. The Lifeline's national network of local crisis centers provides crisis counseling and mental health referrals day and night.
A campaign to learn about and stop bullying.
- Teens Against Bullying
Find great resources on how to identify and respond to bullying.
- The Gay and Lesbian Alliance
The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) amplifies the voice of the LGBTQ community by empowering real people to share their stories, holding the media accountable for the words and images they present, and helping grassroots organizations communicate effectively. By ensuring that the stories of LGBTQ people are heard through the media, GLAAD promotes understanding, increases acceptance, and advances equality.
- The Trevor Project
The Trevor Project offers LGBTQ youth suicide prevention and crisis intervention. If you need to speak to someone immediately, call the TrevorLifeline at 1-866-488-7386 or use TrevorText by texting “Trevor” to 1-202-304-1200 (standard text messaging rates apply).
- Trevor's Space
Trevor's Space is an online, peer-to-peer community for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth (ages 13-24) as well as their friends and family.
- Above the Influence
Everything you need to know about drugs and alcohol.
A nonprofit dedicated to the prevention and alleviation of eating disorders.
The D.A.R.E. (Drug Abuse Resistance Education) Program is a police officer-led series of classroom lessons that teaches children from kindergarten through 12th grade how to resist peer pressure and live productive drug and violence-free lives.
- DrugRehab.com Guide
A comprehensive guide for parents and teens about drugs on campus.
- Go Ask Alice
Get your health-related questions answered by Alice.
- Health Safety Guide for Teens
A guide for teens covering nutrition, hygiene, and other aspects of teen health.
- I Wanna Know
Facts about teen sexual health, puberty, and STDs.
- Prom Health and Safety Tips
Tips to make your prom experience safe, low-stress, and fun!
- Teen Addiction Treatment Centers
AllTreatment.com is a community-based public benefit website connecting people to the addiction resources they need.
- Teen Alcoholism
ProjectKnow.com's purpose is to assist in understanding addiction.
- Teens Health
Nemours Foundation Center provides reliable information on nutrition, emotions, body image, alcohol, drugs, sexuality, and other topics of interest to teens.
- Teen Rehab Center
Teen drug abuse resources for parents.
Digital Literacy is understanding and performing tasks in digital environments. This includes using a computer, identifying information, critically evaluating sources, and using digital tools ethically and safely.
- Connecting the Digital Dots
An article from Educause Review Online about digital literacy by
- Email Etiquette
Rules for behavior and politeness while emailing.
- Google Guide Cheat Sheet
Ways and examples to search on Google efficiently.
- Internet Safety Strategies for Youth
The Anti-Defamation League's guidelines for before you go online, while online, and if you experience online bullying.
- Internet Safety Video Tutorials
Staying safe online is essential in today's world. Learn all about online safety and get Internet safety tips in these free tutorials by GCF Learn Free.
- Media Smarts
Internet and mobile communications technologies offer a wealth of opportunities for fun, learning, and exploration. They also present parents and teachers with a host of concerns and worries. In this section, you can find resources on how to tackle these issues in a positive way. Issues include authenticating information, cyberbullying, cyber security, excessive Internet use, gambling, online hate, online ethics, online marketing, privacy, pornography, sexual exploitation, and sexting.
- Online Safety
Learn about being smart online, cyberbullying, and other things to consider while being online.
- Staying Safe Online
Information about digital safety, including password security, viruses, and safety using social media.
- Climate Feedback
Climate Feedback is a worldwide network of scientists who collectively assess the credibility of influential climate change media coverage. Their mission is to help Internet users—from the general public to influential decision-makers—distinguish inaccurate climate change narratives from scientifically sound and trustworthy information in the media.
FactCheck.org is a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. Their goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
The mission of HealthNewsReview.org is to improve the public dialogue about health care by helping consumers critically analyze claims about health care interventions and by promoting the principles of shared decision-making reinforced by accurate, balanced and complete information about the tradeoffs involved in health care decisions.
Similar to Snopes but tighter in scope, Hoax-Slayer focuses on email hoaxes, identity theft scams, and spam.
- NPR Fact Check
NPR's fact checking section provides detailed articles that break down claims made by political officials. These articles and videos look at issues with an easy and approachable style. NPR is a nationally acclaimed, non-profit multimedia organization and the leading provider of noncommercial news, information, and entertainment programming to the American public.
- The Phrasefinder
Many of the internet's generated memes include quotes inaccurately attributed to famous people. While no reference can claim its content is 100% definitive, every effort has been made to include here only information that is verifiable as correct.
The Pulitzer Prize-winning Politifact researches the claims of politicians and checks their accuracy. PolitiFact is a nonpartisan fact-checking website to sort out the truth in American politics.
- Quote Investigator
This blog records the investigatory work of Garson O’Toole who diligently seeks the truth about quotations. Who really said what? This question often cannot be answered with complete finality, but approximate solutions can be iteratively improved over time.
FactCheck.org’s SciCheck feature focuses exclusively on false and misleading scientific claims that are made by partisans to influence public policy.
One of the oldest debunking sites on the Internet, Snopes.com focuses on urban legends, news stories, and memes. the also cite their sources at the end of each debunking.
- Getting a Driver's License
Information from the Texas Department of Public Safety for driver's licenses.
- Texas Driver's Handbook
Provided by the Texas Department of Public Safety, the Texas Driver's Handbook can help with preparing to obtain a license.
- Teen Driving
Advice from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration to help teens be safe and capable drivers.
- Risky Driving
Drunk driving, distracted driving, not wearing seat belts, drug-impaired driving, speeding, and drowsy driving all put motorists at risk. Learn more about risky driving from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
- Financial Basics
Strong financial knowledge and skills are critical to future success. Teens must be prepared to make wise decisions about earning and spending, credit and budgeting, and saving and investing.
- Identity Theft
Identity theft happens when someone steals your personal information and uses it without your permission. It’s a serious crime that can wreak havoc with your finances, credit history, and reputation.
- Lost or Stolen Wallet
If your credit, ATM, or debit card is lost or stolen, federal law limits your liability for unauthorized charges. Your protection against unauthorized charges depends on the type of card and when you report the loss.
- Money and Credit
USA.gov offers government information about benefits, grants and loans, consumer issues, credit and debit, currency, housing, retirement, spending, saving and investing, and taxes.
- Tax Resources
Whether it’s a summer job or part-time work after school, not all the money you earn will make it to your pocket. Find out if you are required to file an income tax return.
- All Music
Reviews and information about all music genres.
- Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
A database of movies that includes almost anything you would want to know about a movie.
- Teen TED Talks
Talks from scientists, musicians, innovators, activists — all under the age of 20.